Coverart for item
The Resource Triumph of the heart : forgiveness in an unforgiving world, Megan Feldman Bettencourt

Triumph of the heart : forgiveness in an unforgiving world, Megan Feldman Bettencourt

Label
Triumph of the heart : forgiveness in an unforgiving world
Title
Triumph of the heart
Title remainder
forgiveness in an unforgiving world
Statement of responsibility
Megan Feldman Bettencourt
Creator
Subject
Language
eng
Summary
  • "A journalist, a journey, and the transformative power of forgiveness. Veteran journalist Megan Feldman had never considered herself a forgiving person. She'd just gone through a breakup and felt perfectly justified in hating her ex forever. But then she encountered a man who had truly forgiven the teenager who murdered his only son. How could anyone forgive that? Was there something wrong with him? Or was there something wrong with her? So Megan set out on a global adventure, not just to find out what forgiveness is, but how it works. Examining situations as mundane as road rage, as painful as cheating spouses, and as unthinkable as war crimes, she discovers the remarkable physical and psychological benefits of forgiveness, and reveals some of the best ways we can learn to do it ourselves, as both individuals and communities. Because it turns out that the ability to forgive and put down the burdens of the past really is what determines our quality of life-whether after a nasty breakup or a much more severe loss. Inspirational, useful, and wise, Triumph of the Heart is a book for readers of Anne Lamott and Brene Brown"--
  • "The author embarks on a quest to understand the complex idea of forgiveness, drawing on the latest research showing that forgiveness can provide a range of health benefits, from relieving depression to decreasing high blood pressure. Through several remarkable stories of people who have managed to forgive in the toughest of circumstances, she shows us how people are able to do it, where they find the courage, and the profound sense of freedom they feel afterward"--
Assigning source
  • Provided by publisher
  • Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
Dewey number
155.9/2
Index
index present
LC call number
BF637.F67
LC item number
.B475 2015
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
Label
Triumph of the heart : forgiveness in an unforgiving world, Megan Feldman Bettencourt
Instantiates
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn893895244
Extent
pages cm
Isbn
9781594632631
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Lccn
2014048570
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
(OCoLC)893895244
Label
Triumph of the heart : forgiveness in an unforgiving world, Megan Feldman Bettencourt
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn893895244
Extent
pages cm
Isbn
9781594632631
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Lccn
2014048570
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
(OCoLC)893895244

Library Locations

    • Milton Public LibraryBorrow it
      476 Canton Ave., Milton, MA, 02186, US
      42.254133 -71.077981
Processing Feedback ...